• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

RPG Legal Advice

Celebrim

Legend
I'm always impressed by the ability of the PC's to not only get in legal trouble, but to compound their legal trouble by behaving absolutely bizarrely, often in an effort to avoid legal trouble. I have some knowledge of the law, specifically for this sort of thing, but invariably the PC's manage to get so creative with their activities, that I'm pretty darn sure they are guilty of something, I just don't know what it is. So I'm hoping some posters who are lawyers or who have law enforcement background can help me out.

Suppose that someone drops a person off at a hospital. The person is tied up, has 4 gun shot wounds, but has been very expertly patched up - bullets removed, sutures performed. Naturally, the hospital wants to know who this person is, why they have 4 gun shot wounds, and why they have been apparently kidnapped. The person dropping this person off explains that the person that they shot is a dangerous psychotic that tried to attack them, that they shot the person in self-defense, proceeded to administer medical attention to save the persons life, and then decided that they should probably take them to a hospital. They did all of this without in any way notifying the local authorities that any of this had taken place, and in fact the events occurred some 30 miles away and they don't quite remember where.

Needtheless to say, the police are highly suspicious of all of this, and detain the individuals for questioning.