• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Taken Prisoner

SelcSilverhand

First Post
I'm working on an adventure using a plot hook I've never tried before: Imprisoning the players.

My plan is to have a group of raiders attack a caravan and take prisoners along with all the loot. Once they wake up from the non-lethal damage they will be given a chance to escape while their captors are dividing the spoils. If they have a rogue in the party, that person gets a chance to spring the lock and rescue everyone. If not one of the NPC's from the caravan would do it. After that they have a chance to steal back their gear and escape. The rest of the adventure is them on the run from search parties.

I've heard a few people comment in the past that this always annoys players because they are usually forced into it and end up losing their gear. I'm hoping to make it a fun experience and would greatly appreciate any advice from people with experience with this, DM or player. Thanks in advance!

JamesonCourage

Adventurer
I'm working on an adventure using a plot hook I've never tried before: Imprisoning the players.

My plan is to have a group of raiders attack a caravan and take prisoners along with all the loot. Once they wake up from the non-lethal damage they will be given a chance to escape while their captors are dividing the spoils. If they have a rogue in the party, that person gets a chance to spring the lock and rescue everyone. If not one of the NPC's from the caravan would do it. After that they have a chance to steal back their gear and escape. The rest of the adventure is them on the run from search parties.