• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Coolest Monsters Introduced After the 1e Era

Celebrim

Legend
I started playing in the early 80's and much of that set my preferences as a DM for content. Part of that of course is owing to the fact that the 1e designers got to grab the low hanging fruit and do the obvious things that first come to mind when you think of fantasy. In terms of monsters the most iconic stuff like dragons, orcs, griffons, gargoyles, minotaurs, hydras, and so forth naturally was introduced first and the particular interpretations of the early designers have tended to color how we see those creatures since. Troll evokes certain images and ideas in any D&D player, even though that particular troll is just one of many different beasts that could have been tagged troll.

When thinking about the vast array of monsters that have been published over the decades, its hard for me to think of any that really caught on and became as iconic as those introduced in the 1e AD&D era. But this could just be my vantage point as a player. In your opinion what are the best, the coolest, the most iconic, and most influential monsters that have been introduced by later editions of D&D?

Lanefan

Victoria Rules
Do Dragonborn and Tieflings count? They're iconic now, they're influential now, and I for one see them purely as monsters rather than PC race options... :)

Richards

Legend
Girallons - but then, I've always been a big fan of the "John Carter of Mars" series by Edgar Rice Burroughs, and those are just Barsoomian great white apes with the serial numbers filed off. (Rather like osquips are merely renamed Barsoomian ulsios.)

Johnathan

Celebrim

Legend
Do Dragonborn and Tieflings count? They're iconic now, they're influential now, and I for one see them purely as monsters rather than PC race options... :)