• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

D&D 5E Combining LMoP, ToD, PotA & SKT

werecorpse

Adventurer
So I'm running my first Forgotten Realms campaign since I briefly gave it a go when the original grey box came out so I am a realms novice but have DMed a lot. I grew up on 1e as did most of my players and as a rule we prefer a slightly slower advancement. I like most of the WOTC adventures. So my plan, which is still in its infancy, is to run all the Sword Coast adventures together. I think probably not OotA even though that might get dragged in.

this is my proposed set up. Any suggestions, especially with helpful foreshadowing and crossover stuff is very welcome. I have looked around to see if there is a source of helpful material for this sort of amalgamation but have only found bits and pieces, some of those bits and pieces I have stolen to include here.

to start with a slightly altered background to the big 3 campaigns.

Background: Tyranny of Dragons + Princes of the Apocalypse + Storm Kings Thunder

Severin discovers a Dragon Mask location in a ruin and researches it in Candlekeep where he gains much of his knowledge.

The cult of the dragon is taken over by Severin who works towards summoning an aspect of Tiamat. To perform the complex arcane ritual they need arcane spellcasters, the 5 dragon masks, a huge hoard of treasure "looted from the realms", a sacrifice of a noble enemy of the children of Tiamat at a place called the Well of Dragons.

To do this he uses the cult network and its draconic allies to locate and secure the 5 dragon masks and personally locate the Well of Dragons. He meets and allies with some disaffected wizards of Thay and each decides to use the other.

In doing this he gains powerful allies (the cult, the wearer's of purple, dragons and his dragon mask wearers).