Can you coup de grace with an Inflict Wounds spell?

Status
Not open for further replies.

log in or register to remove this ad

I would say no, cause i see the spell more of less affecting the whole target, but not decapitate them.

If it would work the spell woul be the new torture spell... really...
"Tell me where he is.."
"No! NEVER!"
And his arm fell of.
 



Nope.

A touch spell isn't a melee weapon, nor it's one of the ranged weapons detailed in the coup de grace description.
 

Also isn't the rule that it takes a full round to do a coup de grace while it only takes a standard action to cast and use an inflict wounds spell?
 

From the SRD -

Coup de Grace: As a full-round action, you can use a melee weapon to deliver a coup de grace to a helpless opponent. You can also use a bow or crossbow, provided you are adjacent to the target.
You automatically hit and score a critical hit. If the defender survives the damage, he must make a Fortitude save (DC 10 + damage dealt) or die. A rogue also gets her extra sneak attack damage against a helpless opponent when delivering a coup de grace.
Delivering a coup de grace provokes attacks of opportunity from threatening opponents.
You can’t deliver a coup de grace against a creature that is immune to critical hits. You can deliver a coup de grace against a creature with total concealment, but doing this requires two consecutive full-round actions (one to “find” the creature once you’ve determined what square it’s in, and one to deliver the coup de grace).

From the Coup de Grace rules, it is somewhat unclear.

Does a touch attack count as a "melee weapon"? If it doesn't then Monks and various creatures are in trouble. They can't Coup de Grace at all.

Since a spell is not a "melee weapon" in any sense, even a spell delivered with a touch attack, it would seem the answer is "no".

However I'm not sure that's really correct, and I would be inclined to say you can Coup de Grace with any spell you are capable of causing a critical hit with. Causing a critical hit seems the operative part of the coup de grace, and more important than what is used to cause it.
 

It is a weapon-like spell, and I tend to say you can do just about anything with a weapon-like spell that you could do with a weapon.

I would probably say you have to do it as seperate actions though. Round one you cast the spell and hold in the charge, round two you perform the coup.
 

Monks don't deliver touch attacks they deliver unarmed attacks - slight difference. They don't get to ignore armor with their flurries, etc.
 

Murrdox said:
Does a touch attack count as a "melee weapon"?
I'm inclined to say "No".

from the PHB Glossary:

melee weapon

A handheld weapon designed for close combat.

MatthewJHanson said:
It is a weapon-like spell, and I tend to say you can do just about anything with a weapon-like spell that you could do with a weapon.
Are you sure?

Would you allow a Spirited Charge with a touch spell?

SPIRITED CHARGE [GENERAL]

Prerequisites: Ride 1 rank, Mounted Combat, Ride-By Attack.

Benefit: When mounted and using the charge action, you deal double damage with a melee weapon (or triple damage with a lance).
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Remove ads

Top